Daggers And Hearts

your life is all about what you make of it; not about what others think of it

What Is It With People And SMS Language? 

Once in a way SMS language texting is fine. But someone’s ought to set a limit.

Wishing a person “HBD” on their birthday is NOT cool. They deserve a lot better than that; at least on their birthday.

I find it absolutely annoying when I get pinged, “Wazza! Wtchu dng?”

ARE YOU REALLY TRYING TO GET ON MY NERVES? It is nothing short of maddening when people can’t spell fully.

I can understand when someone genuinely cannot spell. But if you can, I would love to read fully, correctly and properly spelt words, without any vowels knocked off or consonants tampered with.

It feels like I am so unimportant to the person on the other end that they wouldn’t care to spend 0.1 second typing an extra alphabet for me!

What is with ‘yew’, ‘ew’, and so on and so forth, as substitutes for ‘you’? Lazy to type y-o-u? Try ‘u’. I would prefer that to yew or ew. AND, if you can take the trouble to anyway type three alphabets-yew- why not just use that same energy and type – you?

Sometimes I just try to pacify myself thinking that they have some special kind of disorder.

A friend of mine once got a message from a “damn cool” guy on Facebook. The message read: Hlw bbz.. Hz ew dn? I lykd yo dp. Wud ew lykz frnz wid meh?

^ What was that? Seriously, what?!  I felt like throwing a dictionary on that guy’s face or if possible, enrolling him in an elementary school.

Honestly, everytime someone takes the trouble and types whole words and sentences, they instantly get 200 brownie points from me.

It is classy and impressive when people choose to go that extra mile to type whole words. Well, for me it is.

13 comments on “What Is It With People And SMS Language? 

  1. Pernnille Oberg
    May 11, 2015

    I so feel your pain. It’s so annoying to read!
    Maybe they think it’s cool… It’s not… 😉

  2. bhavpreet
    May 12, 2015

    hey hi .. saw u at community pool .. yes u r correct but whats app and other networking ways and the run to reply faster and shorter has made all this … but yes some occasions need that we should go out of our comfort zone to do something for some one .. 🙂
    https://livesmilehelp.wordpress.com/ .. this is what i wrote .. hope u will like it .. suggestions required .. 🙂

  3. Carina R
    May 14, 2015

    So true!

  4. villpower
    September 8, 2015

    I found out your blog site through community pool. Lovely articles you conjured up. It is said that human mind can read the sentences without any vowels but this SMS language is completely foreign. I found myself absolutely illiterate in terms of this.
    Now all the smartphones and web editors come with inbuilt dictionary feature which will right away give you prompt word than why these people not using the same is mystery to me. This practice is more damaging as I encountered few occasions when such short form seeped in to professional writing which is completely unprofessional and crude.

    • Alda L
      September 8, 2015

      Thank you very much for your comment and appreciation of my blog!
      I completely agree with you. People use the SMS Language so much so that they get used to it in a dangerous manner wherein they don’t know when to stop.

  5. Tara
    November 26, 2015

    You spoke what’s in the heart of others.. Bingo! Top notch! 🙂

  6. Pingback: What Is It With People And SMS Language? | Quirkiness And Me

    • Alda L
      November 27, 2015

      Thank you Tara for sharing my post. 😀

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2015 by in Random Jabbering and tagged .
